January DeClutter For Good Donation Drive ~ More BOOKS for More Than Words

For January, I’m going to conduct another book drive, this for a couple of reasons including the facts that I’ve already gotten many book donations from folks over the holidays, it’s already Jan 9 (!) and I’ve got to write my business plan and solidify my financial projections (ugh!). All that said, I’m determined to keep the monthly drives going as discussed in a recent post.

Since I’ve already learned about the wonderful organization More Than Words and will be in Waltham at an MLK breakfast at Bentley at the end of the month, another DeClutter For Good event focused on BOOKS makes a lot of sense. I can combine my trip to Bentley with a drop off at More Than Words. It will give me a chance to congratulate them in person ~ MTW was just recognized as a Social Innovator of the Year by the Social Innovation Summit, a Cambridge-based organization supporting new values-driven businesses. Bravo to More Than Words! To read about this inspiring organizations that teaches at-risk teens business and life skills, you can read my post introducing them by clicking here or search for “More Than Words” with the SEARCH tool in the right-hand column to access all of my posts that reference them one way or another.

Click here to go directly to the More Than Words website where you can access their ebay store for some great deals on books for an even greater cause. And, if you find yourself in Waltham, the More Than Words bookstore and coffee shop is definitely worth a visit ~ I’ll take pics next time I’m there!


Here are the DeClutter For Good Book Drive details:

 

For Whom?      To Benefit Teens & To Grow Our Book Collection 

With Whom?   More Than Words, Cornerstones and Time Well Spent

What?                Books for All Ages

When?              Sunday, January 18th,  10am-4pm

Where?             Time Well Spent Pre-Launch Office

                           89 Turnpike Drive/Route 1, Ipswich, MA

Why?             In support of teens at More Than Words,

                        the kids at Cornerstones School 

                        and our mission at Time Well Spent, 

                        three great reasons to declutter at home…   

Just pull up in the front parking lot and give a toot! I’ll be out with help in a jiffy to carry your donations into my temporary office where we will organize and box up the books to deliver to More Than Words.

Can’t make it that Sunday? Send me an email or comment on this post and we can arrange for an alternative drop off time. Ultimately, our DeClutter For Good drives will be weekend long events, but we’ll make it work in the meantime!

Goal-Setting !

Tracking and quantifying results is an important part of social enterprise as it is in all forms of business. In October, we collected 438 books, donating 385 books to More Than Words and keeping 53 for the Time Well Spent book collection that will be an anchor to our Learning and Sharing Resource Center which you can read more about by clicking here. Let’s top that total! I’d love to reach 1000  books donated so it will take a collective effort. January is a classic time for getting organized and going through your book collections, finding those treasures you want to keep and parting with those that can be put to good use in the hands of others.
 

For those who are getting into the swing of decluttering full schedule, go to the tentative schedule page and plan to DeClutter For Good with Time Well Spent throughout the year. By focusing on different clutter areas that need to be tackled one or two at a time, the task is brought down to manageable size AND there is the added incentive that comes with knowing our collective clutter will help those in need, and the environment, in the process. While Clean House and Clean Sweep are great TV shows to inspire a declutter mission around your house, they come with a full crew of helpers along with the hosts ~ something my husband often says we could use at my house and I’m the one preaching the virtues of decluttering!
Any questions, ask!
 
 

 

 

 

Leave a comment