Time Well Spent in September

I thought I’d provide a few highlights from my month of September, including links to my relevant weblog posts and websites for those who want to learn more:blogged all about it and invite like-minded business people and non-profit professionals to join the LinkedIn group. Just a look at the members’ websites provides a dose of inspiration and humility.

 An inspiring start to the month, I attended a Massachusetts Social Enterprise Networking Group event at Brandeis. I

 Taking my own advice from last month’s e-newsletter, I spent one lovely Sunday afternoon at the Newburyport Farmer’s Market where I had a nice chat with the good folks at Transition Newburyport, talked upcycled jewelry with Eco-Artist Pam Farren
and bought some delicious loose-leaf Irish tea from fair-trade tea purveyors at White Heron Tea. (Fair trade is another great topic for Time Well Spent…Don’t get me started!)

Forcing myself out one weeknight, when I thought I didn’t have any more time to give, I took a short drive to the Hamilton-Wenham library and watched GARBAGE! The Revolution Starts at Home with folks from Hamilton-Wenham Green . I enjoyed it so much that I even found the energy to blog about it!

Racking up the miles, I headed back to Brandeis to hear speaker Jeffrey Hollender, a co-founder of Seventh Generation, who gave all plenty to think about on the merits and challenges of sustainable business models. The event was hosted by the Net Impact Brandeis Chapter graduate students, led by an impressive bunch of inspiring young ladies.  

To wrap up the month, I attended a Speed Networking Event hosted by Net Impact Boston and held at Microsoft’s LEED-Gold Certified offices in Cambridge. Nice digs, to put it mildly! Microsoft is certainly a good neighbor to area service organizations and supporter of sustainable building practices

WOW! No wonder September flew by!! And that was just the highlights ~ I can honestly say that it was all Time Well Spent and fuels my drive, determination and enthusiasm for a well-spent October!

Leave a comment