Spending my Time Well – A Quick Look at October and November

Becoming a social entrepreneur is about walking the walk even more-so than talking the talk… With props to Andrew Wolk of Cambridge’s Root Cause, I’m following an “action-while-planning” approach to my business start-up, spreading the word, clarifying my purpose and fine-tuning my plans as I bootstrap my way along. My vision and passion are the two key elements I bring forward in service to my values-based mission. Here’s a glimpse…

 

I spent October…

 Meeting ~ With students at Bentley University, my alma mater, where helping Time Well Spent with Web 2.0 possibilities is a group project for one capable group of students. 

Delivering ~ Various DeClutter For Good donations that had accumulated to More Than Words, Cornerstones School, Solutions At Work and Cradles to Crayons

Networking ~ With Creative Economy of the North Shore members at a Polishing Your Pitch meet-up, facilitated by Debra Crosby, accomplished acting and business presentation coach.

Bootstrapping ~ My way along, earning a few dollars selling my own upcycled creations
at the Essex Clamfest.

Blogging ~ About Blog Action Day 2009, along with 13,601 fellow bloggers. The power of the internet is amazing!
 
Tweeting ~ Via my new Twitter account. Follow me at NancyTWS. Don’t fret ~ I’m not tweeting about what kind of tea I’m drinking (though, if you are wondering, it’s fair trade from NH-based White Heron Tea). I’m sticking with business-related tweets that go out generally once every day or so…
 

In the upcoming weeks, I will be…

Participating  ~ In an organizing committee meeting for the Massachusetts Chapter of the Social Enterprise Alliance. Our first meeting is at GoodWill‘s Boston office, a chance to learn more about their good work. 

Showcasing ~ Time Well Spent at the annual North Shore Women in Business Showcase, November 12th, 3:30-7:30 @ the Danversport Yacht Club. It’s free of charge, open to the public and features many fabulous local businesses, including products for sale ~ an opportunity for great local holiday shopping and networking!

Speaking ~ In early December at the first anniversary luncheon of Dinner With the Girls, a growing group of women on the North Shore who gather for organic networking and shared philanthropy. I am honored and excited, and just a bit nervous!

Donating ~ Some of my hand-made, one-of-a-kind, upcycled jewelry to Red Cross of MassBay’s Holiday Auction. Donating isn’t always about money. It can be time, talent, creations or clutter! We know all about that at Time Well Spent.

Attending ~ The Massachusetts Conference for Women on December 10th from 7:30am-5:30pm. This uplifting event is not just for businesswomen. If you go, wear comfy shoes (though stylish, of course!) and bring a notebook… They have an active Linkedin group worth checking out, as well.

Searching ~ For a business partner, funding and a location to bring Time Well Spent from pre-launch to reality in the coming months. Leads and positive energy are welcomed and appreciated!

Leave a Reply

